| Lifestyle |

Introductions & Formalities | 25 Questions

Introductions are always a tricky one: you are told to write something to captivate the audience and withhold their attention for the remainder of the text. Well, I don’t think I’m interesting enough to do that. In other circumstances, a “who”, “what”, “when”, “where”, “why”  situation should be answered – again, I do not think I could possibly bore you with a whole paragraph sustaining the answers to those questions. Instead, I thought I’d answer a quirkier, more personal spectrum of questions to break the ice between us.


I don’t have any pretences around the fact that no one yet knows me, and so this could either go one of two ways: you could read this and feel inspired to take pity on a new blogger, or you might just skip this with the lack of intention to try and engage with a new writer. I don’t blame you, but I’ll do it anyway: this is the “25 Get to Know Me Questions” tag. I hope this breaks the ice between yourself and I, and is a somewhat interesting first post.


 

102a6-252bquestions
1. What is your name? 

Well, Thomas. But everyone calls me TT and I must say I do like the nickname. 

2. What was your favourite subject at school?

I’m currently still at school and my favourite subject has to be history, especially more modern, relevant stuff. I just find it so interesting to look at how we have shaped to be the world we have today, and see the effects of our collective past on our present selves. Although english literature, and maths are also high on that list and incidentally complete my A level options. 

3. What is your favourite drink?

I don’t really have a particular “favourite”, but I can always drink a hot chocolate, whatever the circumstance. 

4. What is your favourite song at the moment?

That would have to be Florence and the Machine’s “Bird Song” from her debut album, Lungs, from all the way back in 2009. I recently reinvigorated my adoration for Florence after receiving her latter two albums for my birthday, and then re-found this song.

“I opened my mouth to scream and shout 

waved my arms and flapped about

But I couldn’t scream I couldn’t shout,

The song was coming from my mouth.”

With lyrics like these, it’s definitely an acquired sound, but one that I will listen to on repeat.

5. What is your favourite food? 

I pretty much eat everything. Well, sort of – I’m allergic to egg and though I’ve been mostly desensitised and so can enjoy the wonders of donuts, and sticky toffee, I can’t have mayonnaise, omelettes or the like. Anyways, my favourite food of all time has to be bubble and squeak. It’s like all of the best remnants of Christmas Dinner combined in one side-dish. Also it’s basically just vegetables, so I can convince myself I’m healthy whilst I stuff a fridge-full. 

Since I don’t have any particularly appetising photos of bubble and squeak (it does just look like brown/green sludge I’ll allow that), here is a picture of a chicken burger with sweet potato fries instead, from such a lovely small bar on Accra Beach. 

6. What is the last thing you bought?

I think it must have been a train ticket last week. Not very exciting, I know! I tend to be more of a “saver” than a “spender” to be honest.

7. Favorite book of all time?

I’m a real sucker for anything YA really. I’d have to say that “Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline has been one of the best books I have ever read – it was so engaging, and I could not take a break from reading it. I literally did not function for a week, and I’m pretty sure there’s still an imprint on the sofa from where I was sitting with it. Also, there’s still movie hopes for 2017 under Steven Spielberg – fingers crossed! 

8. Favourite Color?

Orange – 110% (or a light blue, hence the blog layout) 

9. Do you have any pets? 

Two dogs: one shih tzu-poodle cross called Bosco, and the other is pure shih tzu called Buddy. They’re the daftest but most adorable little creatures. 


10. Favourite Cologne?

So Cal” by Hollister – if I could walk into Hollister and rub myself on all of their clothes without looking weird, I think I would – this scent is incredible. 

11. Favorite Holiday Period?

Christmas a million times over. I don’t think there’s a better time of year: it’s just so cosy, festive and happy. Twinkly lights are my spirit animal. 


12. Are you married?

To my TV, yes.


13. Have you ever been out of the country, if so how many times?

I have been out a few times, mostly to see my grandparents living in Florida. Besides that, Barbados, Spain and the Canary Islands were brilliant to travel to – so many good memories (and so much good food!). 


14. Do you speak any other language?

 I speak english as my mother-tongue, but also have a fairly good grasp of Spanish due to school lessons really. I can try to understand what two people are saying to each other, but talking myself is the hard bit! I also do Latin, but am not particularly special. 


15. How many siblings do you have?

I have an older sister, and two younger brothers – it’s a lively household! 


16. What is your favourite shop?

Anywhere that sells stationary. I don’t think there’s a better thing to shop for – it’s so well laid out and organised by colour, range etc. Makes me very excited. (there’s an insight into my sad qualities aha) Do you not agree? 


17. Favourite restaurant? 

Byron Burger; the food is so more-ish and the oreo milkshake is second to none. Also their t-shirts with “pickle” and other ingredients on them are weirdly indulging. 

18. When was the last time you cried? 

It must have been around the end of the summer: I had just arrived back from holiday and watched A Bridge to Terebithia by myself lying in my bed. My excuse is that I was jet-lagged, but I know full well I cry every time I watch that film. 

19. Favorite Movie?

Coincidentally enough, the answer is “A Bridge to Terebithia” again – I realise I sound like a five year old, but the film truly is touching and so sad. 

Look how much fun they had together ;-;

20. Favourite Blog?

Although I have a lot of favourites, Paper Fury has to be my reigning champ – it is just incredibly funny, and relatable. 


21. Favorite TV shows?

The Walking Dead has to be my favourite ever show. Following closely behind are Miranda, Sherlock, PLL and Masterchef Australia, but nothing can beat the zombie-infested series that I have spent 6 years of my life following!


it starts again in 9 days and I can’t contain my excitement.


22. PC or Mac?
Mac.


23. What phone do you have?
I have an iPhone 6S in “silver” which is always to hand. 


24. How tall are you?

6’0″

25. Can you cook?

Cheese on toast, or pasta? Sure. I tend to stick to eating others’ food though, aha!


That’s that then – hopefully that wasn’t too dull, and you now feel as if you could possibly endure a few more blog posts from me yet! I found these questions from Megan’s blog a while back, but I’m pretty sure they originated from here!

A huge thank you for reading the blog, and I hope you are intrigued to see some more content soon! Feel more than free to comment, I’d be super happy to reply and take a gander at your blog. 
~TT

Connect with me and check out my socials!

Feel free to contact me via any of them, or just leave a comment on the blog – I’ll be sure to check it out and reply!

TwitterPinterestInstagramtumblrgoogle
15 thoughts on “Introductions & Formalities | 25 Questions

  1. Thanks for the update! I’ve been listening to Florence Welch since her first album was released, so of course some of those are my all time favorites, but I do really like Seven Devils, Shake It Out, and What the Water Gave Me from Ceremonials. I’ve been hearing a lot of Ship to Wreck, as well and I’ve really been liking her sound on that one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem! Seven Devils is absolutely incredible – so hallowing and dark, I love it so much!! I also would have to fly the flag for Only If For A Night and Hurricane Drunk from Ceremonials, and Lungs respectively. But really, all of her music is incredible – I don’t think there’s one song which I’ve disliked!!

      Thanks for stopping by my WordPress!

      Like

  2. Ey, welcome to the void that is the Internet!

    Wonderful to hear about your passions for stationary; my equivalent is perusing books in one aisle for an hour with a group of readers (yes, this happens regularly). I don’t naturally gravitate towards listening to F+tM but her music is a popular choice for many a cappella groups I follow on Spotify etc. so I do hear quite a bit of covers haha.

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Like

    1. Ay, thanks very much! Book shopping is another keen favourite – I think I could spend whole weeks perusing the shelves and reading excerpts of all of the books!

      Yessss I love the acapella covers – especially the one for shake it out where it’s all orchestral. I don’t think I can recommend her enough; her music just speaks volumes and is so well written!

      Thanks for taking the time to stop by and read my blog!

      Like

  3. Naw this is so great!
    I LOVE BRIDGE TO TERABITHIA TOOOO – probably not as much as you, but yesss that movie is such a tear spiller!!!
    Great answer to the favourite shop question – stationary shops would have to be my fave too! They’re just filled with so much possibility, you know??
    Looking forward to seeing more content here!! 😀

    Like

    1. Thank you! 🙂
      BtT is just so amazing O.O Also, I didn’t realise until a couple years ago that it was Josh Hutcherson pre-fame – wow he’s a good actor: he’s in probably two of my top 5 films of all time.
      Stationary shops are incredible – the shelves are just never ending and I could definitely spend at least a day wondering round them.

      Thanks for stopping by!!

      Like

  4. Welcome to the world of blogging! I must ask you a question (as I am currently in a vacuous yet heated debate with my friends): do you have your hot chocolate with milk or water?

    Also, my Spanish understanding is the other way round: I can speak but not listen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou! I really look forward to reading and posting more, and becoming a part of the wider blogging community 🙂 100% milk – it definitely doesn’t taste as good without it!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  5. O_O I LOVE STATIONARY TOO. I always have to restrain myself when I’m walking by it in shops because I already have far more than I need. But still. It’s sooo tempting. *nods*

    Bridge to Terebithia makes me cry too. IT’S SO SAD. *wails*

    Paper Fury is a great blog, and Cait is such a wonderful blogger. 😛

    I just recently switched to Mac, and I have to agree. Mac is so much better than PC.

    I’ve never read Ready Player One, but I’ve heard of it. I should totally check it out.

    Thanks for visiting Out of Coffee, Out of Mind! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely relate – I don’t think I’ve ever needed more willpower than to distance myself from the large colour-coordinated tubs of animal rubbers ;-; They’re all just so tempting! Bridge to Terebithia is such a hard-hitting film for a child audience; every time I watch it I cry and I know what to expect 😛

      Agreed about Cait: what a fantastic blogger – and yesss I used to be firmly in the PC group of people, until I obtained my Macbook and have never looked back since!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

