| Edible Eateries |

How To: Non-Egg Fluffy Pancakes for Shrove Tuesday

Hi all!

Before starting, I would just like to request that this is the obligatory background music to your experience here: Banana Pancakes by Jack Johnson (I’d jump at any chance to play his music, but this was too perfect a song not to choose)


With Shrove Tuesday ever-imposing, I can guarantee that I will be devouring platefuls (and platefuls…and platefuls) of pancakes within the next few days, and so I thought what better than to share a recipe for those of us who can’t eat egg, are looking for a healthier alternative, or are just interested in how to make pancakes? I mean, any blog dedicated to some sort of edible eatery is fine by me, and I hope by you too. Pancakes

I swear by this recipe, and my brothers/sister (who can all eat egg pancakes) have all claimed to prefer these American-style creations to their usual go-tos. I recommend a topping of fresh strawberries/banana, and maple syrup – but it’s really up to you. Hey, what a person puts on their pancakes is as personal a matter as any: I’m not going to barge ahead and impose on such a substantial decision like that.

I was inspired by this here recipe – made some amends and changes according to my desired pancake-preference after many tastings in the kitchen.

These pancakes are incredibly quick and easy to make, hence why I (possibly the laziest person on the planet) feel capable of creating them. At most, the mixture takes 15 minutes to make, and then the pancakes a further 5 minutes to cook; makes around 6-8 pancakes.

The Ingredients

It’s a pretty basic set of ingredients, so hopefully won’t require any extraneous activity on your part to go and peruse the shops for them.

image

  • 175g Plain Flour
  • 3/4 tablespoon Baking Powder (fluffy muffins equates to fluffy pancakes indeed)
  • 1 tablespoon Caster Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Regular Salt
  • 225ml Milk
  • 2 tablespoons Vegetable Oil
  • 2 tablespoons Water

I also like to add:

  • A pinch of nutmeg/cinnamon – this is really just personal preference though, and you can easily skip this according to your tastebuds’ whims.
  • Maple Syrup  – thought this is technically a topping, I felt it worthy of featuring in the ingredients. Again, if you don’t want maple syrup, you do you. We won’t judge you for it – but beware, these additions do allow for the chance to take some overly-enthusiastic photos of pretty average looking ingredients.

image

image

If you wish to make a vegan alternative, feel free to substitute the milk for almond/soya variants – I’m not an expert in the field and so can’t really inform you too well, sorry!

The Making

Again, this is a really simple method for pancake-perfection.

  1. imageCombine all of your dry ingredients – I always tend to lose half of my flour at this point as it sloshes over the sides of the bowl (clearly I’m too eager and my enthusiasm has caused utter catastrophe at this point).
  2. Combine all your liquids (milk, oil and water) in a smaller bowl. Be constantly weary of the oil, it has a habit of veneering the kitchen surfaces for you.
  3. Combine the two. Add the liquids incrementally to the dry ingredients to avoid unnecessary lump-age. 
  4. Lightly grease a skillet or griddle that is big enough to withstand your desired pancake-proportions. Add about a sixth of the mixture, and try to keep the pouring controlled – there is nothing worse than an ovular pancake. The heat should be around the middle setting on your hob.
  5. When your pancake is bubbling at the top, and starting to dry at the edges, flip it. This can be done in a multitude of ways depending on the desired portrayal of your pancake-prestige. You can either flip with no-hands, a spatula (or similar) implement, or by using your adopted telekinesis skills. If you can do the latter, I for one am impressed, and also slightly bemused – are you okay as a human?
  6. Stuff your face to your heart’s content. “Sharing? What’s that?”

Typical excuses for eating the whole stack by yourself include:

  • “Oh sorry I didn’t realise you were home!” Lie. 
  • “I accidentally only made 1… I wonder how that happened? Strange.”
  • “The guinea pig ate 7.” Also lie.
  • “I haven’t made any – you said you’d make some for me yesterday! Where are my pancakes?”

Happy pancake eating/making (/buying if you just can’t be bothered – in which case, fair enough)

Thanks for stopping by @IntroToBlurb, and if nothing else, I hope this blog has made you veritably hungry 🙂 Just to keep you updated, expect another pancake-related blog tomorrow: “Hunger Games Characters as Pancake Toppings” inspired by the one and only Paper Fury.

Are you planning on making pancakes for Shrove Tuesday?

Connect with me! Check out my socials:

TwitterPinterestInstagramtumblrgoogle
3 thoughts on “How To: Non-Egg Fluffy Pancakes for Shrove Tuesday

  1. Oh my goodness, these pancakes look SO GOOD. I’m going to convince my sister we need to make about nine million of them today. *nods*

    Also, your pictures are great–they really capture the feeling of having fun while cooking (idk if that makes sense, we’ll just go with it).

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you liked the look of them! I can assure you that 9 million of them will definitely be achievable and/or necessary. *nods back* If you manage to get round to making these, be sure to tweet me a picture – would love to see how they turn out for you!

      Glad you liked the blog – was definitely a lot of fun to create! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

