| Books & Reviews | · | Features |

Top Ten Tuesday: Envisaging Songs As Books

toptentuesday

The lull of Valentine’s is starting to dissipate, and the blogging world seems to be returning to it’s former state: so, I thought a Top Ten Tuesday seemed suitably appropriate for the occasion. Top Ten Tuesday (-as I’m sure you’re aware!-) is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

The theme was a slight freebie this week and revolved the coupling of books and music; I decided to go down the path of songs that I would love to be turned into books”. Make sure to leave your TTT links in the comments, and I will 120% (definitely possible) check them all out!

 

My Song Choices

1: GRENADE – Bruno Mars 

Book Title: Drowning in the Fire // Genre: YA Contemporary 

This song was basically my go-to tune for 2010, and reflecting back now I think it contains all the right criteria to make a downright consumable book; it has drama, some sort of failing relationship, and the breadth for context – has she cheated on him? Why can’t he leave her?

Tell the devil I said “Hey” when you get back to where you’re from
Mad woman, bad woman
That’s just what you are
Yeah, you’ll smile in my face then rip the brakes out my car

 


 

2: ENCHANTED – Taylor Swift

Book Title: Wonderstruck // Genre: YA Typical Romance

This song is just so good and asdfghjkl connotes all things warm, fuzzy and magical *voms mentally*. I think it would just make the perfect romance novel – heck, even Taylor does in the song:

This is me praying that
This was the very first page
Not where the story line ends
My thoughts will echo your name
Until I see you again.

3: CRAZY – Gnarls Barkley

Book Title: I Think You’re Crazy // Genre: Psychological Thriller

I think this song is too perfect not to be the basis of a book. It’s been written SO WELL and there’s so much potential in the lyrics that are sung; plus, I think I’m starting to become inclined to these novels at the moment, maybe I’m personally just wishing for this to happen.

And when you’re out there
Without care,
Yeah, I was out of touch
But it wasn’t because I didn’t know enough
I just knew too much

4: SUMMERTIME SADNESS – Lana Del Rey 

Book Title: Summertime Sadness (self-titled, yes) // Genre: Magical Realism

I have big hopes for this one; not only do I think the music video is INCREDIBLE but I think that the story would be equally as delectable. The responsibility of having a magical context is too much for one woman, and so she commits suicide. We then follow her friend (also magical-harnessing, because that’s just fun) come to terms with what has happened.

Oh, my God, I feel it in the air
Telephone wires above are sizzling like a snare
Honey, I’m on fire, I feel it everywhere
Nothing scares me anymore

5: GOOD THING – Sam Smith

Book Title: Before I Fall // Genre: YA Realistic Fiction

This one is already pretty much a ready-made story, so not much to say here – I certainly would read this book, I mean anything typical to a YA fiction I’ll give a chance.

I had a dream I was mugged outside your house
I had a dream in a panic you came running out
For a moment you were sure I’d die on you
For a moment I believed you loved me too

6: BLANK SPACE – Taylor Swift

Book Title: Love is Torture // Genre: YA Anything and it would still be good

This would just be the best story; Taylor has gone to the trouble of doing the hard part for us and coming up with a main plot line and character development. Really, all this needs is some expansion, and boom Times Bestseller, I’m calling it.

But the worst is yet to come – oh no,
Screaming, crying, perfect storms
I could make all the tables turn
Rose garden filled with thorns

7: SEDATED – Hozier

Book Title: The Shadows of the Cave // Genre: Historical Fiction

Besides being one of my favourite ever songs lyrically, I just think that there’s definitely an absence of stories regarding mental health-y type topics and this would perfectly breach the gap between an enjoyable novel, and one with a subtler message regarding the connotations of drug abuse. I think this would be such a cool World War story, set in the trenches.

You and I nursing on a poison that never stung
Our teeth and lungs are lined with the scum of it
Somewhere for this, death and guns
We are deaf, we are numb
Free and young and we can feel none of it

 

8: WHAT WOULD YOU DO? – Bastille

Book Title: Other People’s Heartache // Genre: Thriller

This would be such a tragic book, but definitely one I’d love to see taking pride of place on my shelf. I’m thinking red book cover, with a heart on it, and blood dripping down the page? Brilliant. The story would be set in the present, with flashbacks to the past informing us bit-by-bit of the lengths this woman turned to in order to earn enough money to support a family – we only find out if she’s killed someone or not at the end of the book…

Girl, you ain’t the only one to have a baby,
That’s no excuse to be living all crazy
So she stared me right square in the eye
And said, “Everyday I wake up, hoping to die”

 

9: I KNOW PLACES – Taylor Swift

Book Title: Fragile Little Flame // Genre: Magical Realism &/or Thriller

I know this is the third Taylor song on my list, but boasting over 100 tracks, there was always bound to be an over-proportional number that are too good not to include! This would be such a dark track, and I’m thinking that there is some mythological/magical connotation here. Our protagonists are running, but what from? An enemy? Another species? Themselves?

Just grab my hand and don’t ever drop it
My love
They are the hunters, we are the foxes
And we run

10: BROKEN CROWN – Mumford & Sons

Book Title: Broken Crown *I’m all about the self-titles* // Genre: Magical Realism 

I’m not particularly expecting anyone to know this one, but for me (as being legitimately one of possibly 3 all-time favourite songs) it was too perfect not to include – I couldn’t help myself! It would definitely be about a man who is becoming involved with a character beyond his control, who uses her magical influences to force him into things he regrets. He manages to pull himself free from her grasp, just for her to go for his brother instead. “But in this twilight, our choices seal our fate” he has to try and finally put an end to this as she manipulates, twists, and turns his family apart. (literally.)

Touch my mouth and hold my tongue
I’ll never be your chosen one
I’ll be home safe and tucked away
Well You can’t tempt me if I don’t see the day

So there we have it! I hope you enjoyed this blog, and if not, at least found some solace in the fact that my music taste is more all-over-the-shop than yours. 

Feel more than free (literally, feel obliged to… or no cake for you) to link your TTT’s below, and I’ll be sure to swing by and check them out 🙂 Also, I’d love to know what you thought about my suggestions, and whether or not you agreed with them!

 

40 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Envisaging Songs As Books

  1. You’re a Taylor Swift fan I see, me too! 😀 When I don’t know what to listen to, I’m always turning to those songs! I loved Enchanted in Speak Now, I think Ours would make a “great book”, especially when you look at the clip! 🙂 Her “new” album is also so amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aha yesss!! Ours would make such a good book, you’re right! I’d say 1989 is probably my second/third favourite record of hers – it is so good!

      Thanks for stopping by – will go and check your blog out now! 🙂

      Like

  2. Such a wonderful list! Honestly, I think any Taylor Swift song would make a wonderful book – I’m a HUGE fan. Can’t believe I forgot about Grenade (I kinda forgot about all the older songs, tbh) – that song would make such a brilliant book. Same about Summertime Sadness. LOVE that song! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aha, thankyou 🙂 Yeah I was choosing between Blue Jeans, Summertime Sadness and Video Games – went for SS purely because of the music video and how I could see that being transformed into a book the most 😛 The other’s would have certainly made excellent books too though!!

      Thanks for swinging by! ~TT

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Honestly I love all your picks but What Would You Do? (The one I picked as well) is just perfect. I love your take on it. The more I think about it the more I want someone to write this. Just a chance meeting brings up everything that got her there. Maybe the guy that picks her up is someone now famous who went to school with her. Write this one! Please! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love that you thought up book titles and genres for all of these, wow! Taylor Swift’s songs would translate so well into books. After I posted mine, I realized I should have looked through her catalog for songs too. I almost included a Bastille song on mine as well. Oblivion is my favorite track and I think it would make a great story.

    Like

    1. Thank you for the kind words; thoroughly glad you enjoyed the post!!

      Oblivion is definitely one of my all time favourite Bastille songs (along with Sleepsong, and These Streets) and yep, I completely agree it would be such a compelling story. It would have so many questions aha!!

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

    1. Aha yep; surprisingly, she’s a close second to Ed Sheeran, but she’s definitely still a favourite of mine 🙂 Glad you like the compilation of music – I thought that the styles were a bit all over the shop, but I guess that’s just what I listen to (lots of random, discordant things you wouldn’t associate with each other… The Fratellis & Lana Del Rey, what?)

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  5. Excellent choices! And some new music added to my library 😉
    And I love that you even came up with the titles!!
    To be honest, any Taylor Swift song can be made into a book. Do you know that there is a YA book based on her ‘Love Story’ which is sort of time travel romance? Not really great stuff but the fact that it was based on a song got me interested into it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aha, glad you like them – thanks for the kind words! 🙂 Yesss totally agree – her songs are basically mini-summaries of respective novellas. Ah, I hadn’t heard that before! That sounds pretty neat, will have to check that out – thanks for letting me know 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m not a huge fan of Taylor Swift, mostly because she annoys me, but “Blank Space” would make a fabulous book. I could totally see it from the perspective of a guy who finds this girl somewhere, and they fall in love and everything is golden until she starts freaking out, because a psychopath, locks him in the basement, murders him and waits for the next unfortunate victim to arrive… (That escalated quickly.)

    Anywho, this was super interesting. I’ve never even thought about turning a song into a book. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fair enough, I know that she’s not everyone’s cup of tea!!

      Glad you agree about Blank Space though – wow, that would be a novel I would read! Your description was just perfect O.O

      Thankyou for stopping by, and the kind words: I really do appreciate it 🙂 I’d be really interested to see what songs you would turn into books if you have some spare time to join in on this week’s TTT!

      Like

Leave a Reply

