| Books & Reviews | · | Features |

Throwback Thursday #1: Favourite Childhood Books

TBT2As bloggers, I’m more than sure that you are all well aware of the stigma surrounding the intimidating stature of “TBRs” and the ever-looming nature of a “wish-list”. I thought that to make a change from constantly looking forward, it would be a fun little idea to recollect on my bookish past with a new weekly meme I’m hoping to start here on Intro To Blurb. Primarily, this is for my own personal motivation, and to be able to have a blog prepared every Thursday (*nods*) but if you like a topic one week, be sure to join in!

(NOTE: I did a quick scan around the blog-o-sphere to see if there was anything like this – I didn’t want to step on anyone’s toes!! I couldn’t see anything, apart from “Flashback Friday” by Bookshelf Fantasies (on hiatus at the moment), however this focuses more on the reviewing of books you have read in the past, and so I thought that this meme was allowable.)

If you decide to immerse yourself in emotions of bookish nostalgia one week, feel free to link up here – I will most certainly check out any/all blogs of the sort:

Nostalgia is just the best feeling, and so I hope you would enjoy joining me in this weekly discussion of all things related to our bookish pasts. This week’s theme is:

Throwback ThursdayChildhood Books

 image

1. THE TIGER WHO CAME TO TEA // Judith Kerr

My all time, uncontested, favourite book from memory lane. I’ve never felt so connected to a fictional tiger before (*sorry Life of Pi, it’s true*) and I’m pretty sure I must have rigidly annoyed my mum by asking her to read this with me on repeat.

2. PASS THE JAM JIM // Kaye Umansky & Margaret Chamberlain

61ben3egmsl-_sx258_bo1204203200_

I think I must have read this book 100 times over, the illustrations and characters were just so capturing and I used to spend HOURS on end just grinning at the vivid scenes of jam-based shenanigans. Literature at it’s finest, of course.

3. CAT IN THE HAT // Dr Seuss

I don’t think any compilation of childhood books would be quite complete without the inclusion of  a Dr Seuss book – I feel like they have appealed to everyone, whatever age, at some point in their life. Also, did anyone else used to play the computer game?! … it may have endlessly crashed the computer but it was SO GOOD.

giphy4

4. THERE’S A WOCKET IN MY POCKET // Dr Seuss

I also don’t think any collection would be fair, or representative of my childhood, if there wasn’t a disproportional number of Dr Seuss books – this was definitely one of my all-time favourites and symbolises vivid, happy memories of reading it by the lake whilst “fishing” with my grandad (I’d read, not noticing the fish on the line, he would pull it in and allow me to claim it as my catch)

5. Q POOTLE 5 // Nick Butterworth

One of the best books of my childhood without a doubt, and I must admit that I had forgotten about until looking through an old bookshelf – I loved doing this, it was so cool to rediscover little fragments of years passed through books. Also after doing some research I’ve found that there is now a TV SHOW based on this book – I don’t now whether to be excited that this is a thing, or ashamed for wanting to watch it…

giphy5

6. FLANIMALS // Ricky Gervais

An eclectic, exciting book that allowed me to divulge myself in a world of paranormal, alien-type activity as a child. Although, I must admit that some of the creatures scared me immensely…

7. CLASSIC MYSTERIES // Enid Blyton

679a9fe237228d10a3d5408d27f95824

Now I would say these books were first and foremost my leap into the world of proper reading – they kind one bridged the awkward gap between childish books and teenage divulgence along with the next series on my list:

8. ALEX RIDER // Anthony Horowitz

These were like a dumb-downed version of the Cherub series by Robert Muchamore that would proceed to underpin the major part of my “tweenage” years. SO GOOD. The mysteries and missions used to really capture my imagination, and my favourite book was definitely Point Blanc where there was a big vat of jellyfish that Alex would have been dropped into, and the man with the twisted face.

image

I think you can see how worn these books had become – I don’t think I let them out of my sight for, ooo let’s say 7 years? 

9. 39 CLUES // Linda Sue Parkimage

I think this was probably the first actual whole series of books that I properly loved, and could not put down. I was like a production line, *one book finished, start the new one*. They used to have collectable cards taped to the inside cover – why can’t YA books be as fun an experience?! *weeps eternally*

giphy6

 


 

There we have it 🙂 I hope you enjoyed this gander down memory lane with me, and I would love to hear if you remember any of these books – did you like them? What were your favourites? I really did love making this – it feels so good to revisit my childhood favourites, and reminisce over the books I loved.

I’m not going to lie, this took me longer to make as expected because I was sat on my bed reading through these books and catching major feels. 

If you’ve enjoyed this, feel more than welcome to get involved! I would love to hear your thoughts via a comment, or your own variant of this topic!

 

12 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday #1: Favourite Childhood Books

  1. Oh my gosh YES with the 39 Clues – I remember loving them sososo much! I stopped reading after the last book came out – the Vesper’s Rising series got a bit confusing for me? Plus I can never find books in that series haha 🙂
    I never read the Classic Mysteries by Enid Blyton…but I read her Adventures of the Wishing Chair loads when I was younger, and just savoured every reread haha! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yessss!! I agree about the Vesper’s Rising series being really confusing – I wasn’t a fan – I think I read the first book and gave up on the new instalment. I can’t say I remember Adventures of the Wishing Chair… I’m sure it was brilliant though, every Enid book was!!

      Thanks for visiting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Dr. Seuss was just the best, wasn’t he? I think he pretty much sums up my ENTIRE childhood. Pretty much every stage of my life has been with a book in tow.

      Glad you liked the blog 🙂 Would love to hear some of your favourites!! Thanks for swinging by 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m sure I DID read Dr Seuss as a kid, but I don’t really remember. XD I did like the CHERUB series and I looooved Linda Sue Parks historical fiction books! I read them for school and still remember them so so well. Eeep. ;D

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe I’ll randomly be minding my own business one day and a Cat in the Hat rhyme will pop into my head. Like wut? I read them a LIFETIME ago and now I have some rhyme in my head about pink goo on the wall?!

      Thanks for swinging by Cait 😀

      Like

    1. Her writing is just so capturing for a childish imagination! I always remember one scene where one of the kids was being held captive, and used orange juice to write on a piece of paper secretly. They then threw it out of the window and the rest of the gang used UV light to decipher what he was saying 😛

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

    1. Hehe glad you like the sound of it 🙂 I don’t know whether being a production line with a series kind of destroys it for me (not really much time to engage/reflect!!) or heightens it (It makes me so excited – I. MUST. READ. MORE.) Thanks for stopping by, as always 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

