| Books & Reviews |

DIE FOR ME: Amy Plum | Review

image

DIE FOR ME by Amy Plum

4.7 stars.png

(4.8 stars)

Genre – YA Paranormal/Fantasy

Published by – HarperTeen on May 10th 2011

Pages – 341

An Overview of Opinions

YESSSSS.

100% the best book I have read of 2016 so far, it had everything. Humour, action, brewing relationships and an almost obsessive repertoire of cosy French cafés. I must admit that I hadn’t yet ventured into the works of Amy Plum before I read this book, heavily inspired by a killer review over at Kirstie’s Upside Down Books (direct link to blog) – I can also now affirm that I am craving more… *immediately purchases the rest of the collection*.

giphy7

The Plotline

My life had always been blissfully, wonderfully normal. But it only took one moment to change everything.
Suddenly, my sister, Georgia and I were orphans. We put our lives into storage and moved to Paris to live with my grandparents. And I knew my shattered heart, my shattered life, would never feel normal again. Then I met Vincent.
Mysterious, sexy and unnervingly charming, Vincent Delacroix appeared out of nowhere and swept me off my feet. Just like that, I was in danger of losing my heart all over again. But I was ready to let it happen.
Of course, nothing is ever that easy. Because Vincent is no normal human. He has a terrifying destiny, one that puts his life at risk every day. He also has enemies. . .immortal, murderous enemies who are determined to destroy him and all of his kind.

DIE FOR ME follows the story of our 16 (and later, 17) year old protagonist Kate Mercier, and the eclectic companions she meets on the way. The first few chapters see us following Kate around various cosy cafés and just as she begins to feel invested in her new-life, the book starts to become really interesting.

giphy10

The Characters

KATE: I think she’s everything that a good protagonist should be, y’know class, eloquence, amazing development and the willingness to slice off someone’s head if necessary (even if somewhat possessed at the time)

GEORGIA: Kate’s ever present, ever outgoing extroverted sister who has basically taken the exact opposite approach to Paris life than Kate. Georgia has an abundance of confidence and always is there for Kate when things become rough. Also *constant* reference is made to her freckles.

VINCENT AND THE REVENANTS: Personally, I think it’s über exciting that Plum successfully managed to create a whole new species of paranormal entity – and a humorous, good-natured one at that. Revenants are part-zombie, part-vampire and wholly awesome. They are basically randomly-selected ordinary dead people who have died whilst protecting someone’s life, and so have presently been made immortal, required to constantly save in-danger civilians. Don’t worry if you’re not about the superhero life. There is also an equally super, yet ultimately devastating group of paranormal antagonists known as the Numa. I won’t spoil it too much, but there’s a lot more to learn about this new species of mythical being.

LUCIEN:giphy11The good and bad

What I LOVED:

  • The REVENANTS; this humorous group dynamic added effortless depths of life to the book which is what any reader dreams of.
  • The characters were so well developed, and I truly connected with all of them.
  • The Paris references – who needs to go anywhere anymore when you can read? I feel very cultured right now.
  • The main romance/relationship – I’m not a mad fan of romances, but this certainly pertained my interest and was just the perfect combination of personalities.
  • The ending was so fulfilling. A little too perfect? Maybe. I’ll allow it though – the book was full of so many up’s and down’s it was good to reach a steady conclusion for once.

What I DISLIKED:

  • Kate’s “Papie” made a passing comment regarding the totally-evil-murdering-antagonists that just had me itching to refer back to. This was never fully explored and I feel like it left an unanswered question for me … who knows? Maybe this will be revisited in book 2? *one can only hope so much*

giphy9

  • Charlotte and Charles being kicked out temporarily. I loved Charlotte – she was probably the character I found myself gravitating to the most. Charles was okay too, y’know besides inadvertently reigning near-death on his companions…

The Verdict

Die for me

(Overall: 9.625/10 or 4.8 stars)

I completely recommend DIE FOR ME. Not only does it appeal to pretty much 90% of genres out there but I don’t think you’ll be able to put it down. The story is just so enthralling, and I think you should just jump head-first into this series. Amy Plum has really captured my attention with an amazing concept, and brilliant execution of a non-generic YA fiction.

I absolutely can’t wait to read the sequel, Until I Die, and watch the character progressions – where is the plot going to go? Will anyone die?! @Papie, are you evil, or not?

As always, thanks for stopping by!

Amazon // Goodreads

13 thoughts on “DIE FOR ME: Amy Plum | Review

  1. So glad you enjoyed this! It sounds really awesome, and its been on my toread shelf for soooooo long xD
    Your enthusiasm for the Revenants though…that’s infectious! I think 50% of my motivation to read the book is now because of the Revenants ahahah xD

    Like

  2. Although Revenants is probably Plums most notable work (and though I haven’t read anything she’s written), I do remember really wanting to give her After the End a go when I was in a huge dystopia kick a few years ago (which never actually happened but you know how it is). I do like how your rating is as arbitrary as mine with the 0.125 ratings. I dig it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eeee! So happy that you enjoyed it! I know what you mean about that Papie reference, tsk tsk, Plum has left us hanging. So much love for this series – I’m going to buy the remaining two at the end of the month and then tuck myself into a corner and do NOTHING but read them. Can’t wait!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

