| Tags & Miscellaneous |

The Totally Should’ve Book Tag!

Totally Should've Book Tag!

Firstly, a huge thank you to Lauren (@Always Me) for tagging me – I absolutely adore her blog and want to extend my gratitude for her continued support from day 1 of opening Intro To Blurb: she has endured all of my nonsensical moments, been fully supportive and *hopefully* not wanted to turn and run a mile after reading a post (very uncommon, I know!)

I absolutely adored the sound of this tag!! My life is constantly a string of “could have, would have, should have” and “what if?” (I’m possibly the most indecisive person you will ever meet) and I love relating this to the blog-o-sphere. I stuck mostly to the original tag, but did replace a couple of the points – *sneaky*


 

1) Totally should’ve gotten a sequel

a1bcf-xhe4l

I need a sequel for Ready Player One by Ernest Cline –  though a film in the pipeline will somewhat suffice, (also with Steven Spielberg as director, WHAT?!) I would love to re-explore this dystopian world in an extra addition to the series.

giphy12


2) Totally should’ve had a spin off seriesimage

*because self-advertising is cool* Read my review here!

Though this is only semi-informed (I’ve only read the first of the “Revenants” trilogy) I would love for there to be a spin-off version of Die For Me by Amy Plum100% historical fiction would be a necessary turn for the novel – I would love to follow the stories of other Revenants from the past, as they first died, and their reactions to re-awakening. Ancient Egypt? I think so!


3) Totally should’ve ended differently

the_death_cure1

The Death Cure by James Dashner

I don’t think anything can erase the pain of a certain character’s death (I won’t spoil who – I’m so kind, I know). Eughhhh, and then something else happened just before the end that was so cliché, rushed and unnecessary. I still question why the book concluded in the way it did a solid 3 years after reading it.


4) Totally should’ve had a film franchise

133268311

The Testing Trilogy by Joelle Charbonneau would make such a good film franchise – besides appealing to a typical age-range of teenage to YA, I can just imagine the strands of dystopia, drama, romance and death being brought to the big screen.


5) Totally should’ve had a TV show 

enemy-series
As a self-professed The Walking Dead fanatic (up there with my loves of a) food, b) sleep, c) the cold-side of a pillow) I feel like The Enemy Series by Charlie Higson would make a really  good TV show. I mean, I know not many adults would be able to relate but I think this would be perfect middle grade to YA viewing.

…Well, I’d watch it at least.

giphy15


6) Totally should’ve had only one point of view

 

I have to agree with Lauren, and Jay before her it seems, and punt for Allegiant by Veronica Roth. Clearly, this “one viewpoint” matter is a very popular view.


 

7) Totally should have a cover change

na61
and… 8) I totally should’ve stopped reading.

I don’t know whether it’s the dated feel of the book, or the humour which just doesn’t appeal to me as a 21st century male, but I really just don’t connect with Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen. That being said, I had to study it for my English course and so was obligated to read – the dissection of the book probably didn’t help!

giphy13


 

9) Totally should’ve kept the original covers

hunger-games-book-covers

Is it just me who really dislikes the most recent cover change for the Hunger Games trilogy? I faaaar prefer my old, crusty, cake-smattered copies.

10) Totally should have not pre-judged

Recently, I have really been enjoying reading classics. After firmly holding them at an arm’s length (they’re so scary), I am glad to say that we are now on a similar wave-length and I am thoroughly enjoying divulging into some well-esteemed, historic literature. Emphasis on the “some” – I’m still not entirely disposed to liking them…
I also can definitely ascertain that I’m not the only one who has to boy themselves up for reading a classic, and so feel slightly less bad.
giphy8

Your Turn

As far as tags go, I would love to extend the baton to a few people who have been utterly supportive of Intro to Blurb thus far (I mean, a new blog can always go either way – I must thank them for coming on the journey with me, and not immediately switching off!)
Of course, this isn’t obligatory or exclusive in the slightest – I would love to see any and all takes on the tag theme!
– Geraldine @ Corralling Books
– Kirstie @ Upside-Down Books

Also, feel free to leave a comment – I absolutely love receiving thoughts, and conversing with anyone and everyone!

12 thoughts on “The Totally Should’ve Book Tag!

  1. Thanks for tagging me!

    I totally agree on the POVs in Allegiant. I definitely would have preferred just one. I think it was especially hard for me to keep track of whose head I was in because they were together so often and doing the same things, and it just didn’t work for me. 😦 I haven’t read The Death Cure yet, but I was spoiled for the ending, and I think I’ll have a similar opinion of it when I do get around to reading it.

    Thanks again for tagging me! Here’s the link to mine: http://adelethelaptop.blogspot.com/2016/03/totally-shouldve-book-tag.html

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem about the tag – it’s the least I could do to thank you for always checking up on my blog 🙂

      The Death Cure was just so anti-climatic for me, and I really wasn’t happy with the ending *cries eternally*. Alleigant was rather the same, although more in a “dull” sense than a “bad plot-line” one.

      Will go and check your blog out now!

      Like

  2. Thanks so much for tagging me, TT~! 😀
    I’m the same, I think I’ll really enjoy doing this tag! Look out for my post, in the next month or so…I’m so behind on tags haha xD
    I have no idea what the most recent cover changes are for THG series – but I actually think that some of the new covers are awesome. The Aus edition ones, at least are superb – they look really flashy and sleek haha, which I absolutely love ❤
    Great responses though – I’ve only read the first book The Testing, but it would be awesome to see a TV show based off that! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, no problem 🙂 Will keep an eye out – good luck with powering through the tags!! 😛

      Yeah neither, they seem to change so frequently it’s ridiculous. OMG those Aus ones are stunning – can I please have 800? Thanks.

      Thank you for stopping by!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I TOTALLY JUST HAD AN IDEA. Because you said Ancient Egypt and now I’m going to force strongly suggest that you read Reawakened by Colleen Houck – have you read it already? It’s set in American/Egypt but involves reawakened Egyptian gods and just slakdjfkag. Plz read, need fangerling companion. (No pressure).

    Also, great list! I agree with all those crazy cover redos with The Hunger Games, like calm yo’ farm. Although the new UK (?) covers with the cameo appearance have my money attention. Thanks so much for tagging me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *Adds to TBR immediately* THAT SOUNDS SO GOOD. Okay, I’ll look into it and purchase a copy – thanks for the recommendation!! Will probably be annoying you with non-stop tweets if I enjoy it >:)

      Hehe, yeah – I can’t even tell which ones are the latest ones anymore! No problem, thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I like what you did with the tag – and thanks for the shout out! There are quite a few here I’d like to try – I’ve actually got a copy of The Enemy on my tbr mountain and as a fan of The Walking Dead I’m looking forward to it. I’d also like to read The Testing and Ready Player One – pretty sure I have a copy of Ready Player One around here somewhere… I completely agree with you about The Death Cure. I think my favorite book in that series was the first, after that I kind of gave up on them. I’ve seen the movie adaptations – and I think I prefer the movie of The Scorch Trials. It’s completely different, but for me preferable to the book. I have read Northanger Abbey and I think I enjoyed it more than you did, but then again I didn’t have to study that particular book for school. Good luck finding classics that you like!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, thanks for tagging me originally 😀 I’d really recommend The Enemy series – I read most of them 2 summers ago and thoroughly enjoyed the whole plot continuation 🙂 The film for RPO comes out in 2 years, so as long as you read it before then, you have a while!! 😛

      The Death Cure really ruined the series for me – I haven’t seen The Scorch Trials yet, and am sort of holding off on it. I HATED the first movie with a passion – it was completely wrong and gah the casting/plot-line variation ;-;

      Thanks for stopping by and giving this a read! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

