| Tags & Miscellaneous |

“This or That?” Tag

This or That

A huge thank you to  Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts for the tag – he’s such a blogging inspiration, and his well-placed, witty remarks never fail to make me laugh. The premise of this tag is basically an array of quick fire bookish questions that will 100% tear through my indecisive disposition on everything. Gah, I hate decision making.


 

Reading on the bed, or the couch?

There’s nothing better than reading whilst tucked up in bed, smothered in an assortment of duvets, pillows and all-things-cosy.


Male, or female main character?

Although many of my favourite books have been written from the perspective of a female protagonist, I think that I would have to side with a male main character on this one. Sometimes, (*please don’t consume me*) female main characters can seem a little cliché, and as a male myself, I find it easier to relate and connect with them.


Sweet, or salty snacks when reading?

Sweet. That is all. But I will still eat anything and everything put in front of me.

tumblr_nw6xslubnr1ub95z1o1_250


Trilogies, or quartets?

Trilogies – if Adele believes in them, they’re good enough for me!

giphy18


First-person, or third-person POV?

ADORE first-person point of view stories, and would have to give my vote to this. Raw connections are just the best. Weirdly enough (and I know this is an odd, unpopular choice!) I hold out EVEN MORE LOVE for second-person POV. Stories that involve me by using “you”, and transform me into a character work ON ANOTHER LEVEL; although, this has to be done extraordinarily well to actually work.


Reading at night, or in the morning?

At night, under lamplight, with music for my preferred atmosphere.

tumblr_o3sev1g2v41thpoa3o3_r1_250


Bookstores, or libraries?

Although libraries are free, I have never really found myself very drawn to them – I find the mood a tad oppressive.

tumblr_o3w9nwdxk51roxle0o4_250


Books that make you laugh, or cry?

150% cry. Emotional books are always doing something right if they make me cry (which let’s be honest, isn’t hard. I cried at Inside Out.). I just think sympathy  is an emotion that is harder to extract than  laughter, and if a book manages to make me connect with a  plot line to that extreme,  a hearty congratulations to them.

giphy19


Black, or white book covers?

Um I don’t know… grey? *hides*


Character, or plot-driven stories?

This is probably the hardest one. An amazing plot line can carry a book in GREAT LENGTHS,  but if the characters have the depth of a small paddling pool, I’m really unlikely to connect with the book. Likewise, amazing characters will peak my interest, but a boring plot line will ultimately make me switch off. I’ll say character-driven, purely because I’m a people-person and like learning about other’s nuances.


Your Turn

Tags:

– Lauren @ Always Me
– Geraldine @ Corralling Books
– Kirstie @ Upside-Down Books
– Jade @ BookMuffin
And, indeed, anyone/everyone who wants to give it a go – leave links below and let’s have a “this or that” discussion in which you can feel free to entirely disagree with my opinions.
24 thoughts on ““This or That?” Tag

  1. Thanks for tagging me! It’ll probably be a while before I get to it, but I’m really excited about doing it. 🙂

    I much prefer bookstores over libraries too. Libraries really do seem more subdued, and all the books feel sad and overused, like no one has really taken proper care of them. And I do have to say that, while I prefer reading female characters, female characters are often presented in cliched ways, and that’s something I really wish would change in literature. It seems that, so often, even female authors don’t get female characters enough to write them properly. *shakes head*

    Great answers, and thanks again for tagging me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sure thing, no problem! I’m equally as excited to seeing your response.

      I’M SO GLAD YOU PREFER BOOKSTORES TOO – I was semi-scared everyone would try to consume me because of it, but I just downright despise the mood and general atmosphere of a library. It just feels forced, and harsh to me?

      I completely agree with your rant about the overuse of female main characters which is kind of rendering them all a little cliché *shakes head in agreement*. A little development never goes amiss – some protagonists are just unbelievable which really decrease the credibility of a book for me.

      Like

  2. Awesome tag! I totally agree with you on the male vs female perspective (apart from the fact that I’m female, obviously) – there are so many YA books with female perspectives it feels like sometimes, I’d love to see more books like Simon vs, Assassin’s Apprentice, or Percy Jackson with an interesting and strong male lead. I feel like there’s probably quite a lot out there but only female protags come to mind! (Or it’s dual perspective or something).

    Thanks for tagging me!

    Like

    1. Hehe, thanks! I’m really glad you liked the tag, and my responses – looking forward to reading yours! I completely agree that there is a gaping hole for more books like Percy Jackson; male leads are just so much more relevant to myself, and I can find them to be a lot more complex compared to the wannabe Katniss’s, and Tris’s. Although, as you say, maybe we’re just not looking far enough!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

