| Books & Reviews |

UNTIL I DIE … FROM ADMIRATION FOR THIS BOOK.

image

UNTIL I DIE – Amy Plum

(4.5 stars)

Genre – YA Paranormal/Fantasy

Published by – HarperCollins on May 8th 2012

Pages – 353

Kirstie’s Review

An Overview of Opinions

ASDFGHJKL Amy Plum please devour my soul. 

A perfect sequel to an amazing debut in the Revenants trilogy, exactly what I wished and hoped for in my wildest dreams. Before this book I genuinely never had experienced a sequel that outshone its predecessor: Hunger Games > Catching Fire, Divergent will forever exist to be the annoyingly perfect older sibling to Roth’s other works, and the original HP is definitely my favourite of them all (apart from maybe the last one, but that’s irrelevant – RON’S FACE IS SO SMALL AND CHUBBY.) UNTIL I DIE serves as a near-perfect marriage of all things action, romance, relationship, fantasy and croissants. (because who doesn’t love a good breakfast pastry ESPECIALLY if it’s stereotypical to its country of origin?!)

The Plotline

“But this is the twenty-first century. And I’ve got this” – I pulled out the signum and held it up for him to see – “that says I’m kindred. And I’ve got this” – I pointed at my head – “that says I’m as smart as you. And I have this” – I held up my middle finger – “that says go to hell, you immortal bigot.”

UNTIL I DIE continues the story of Kate Mercier, and her complicated (to say the least!) relationships with a band of immortal beings known as the Revenants: these are split into two sub-categories known as the bardia (the good-guys) and the numa (no cake for them), because who doesn’t love a good immortal conflict of MASS PROPORTIONS. Kate, and her now-undead boyfriend Vincent, struggle to come to terms with the fact that their relationship has more complications, and intricacies than every other aspect of their lives combined. To summarise the plot line in roughly a few words:

Death, hostages, love, kidnapping, murder, FLOWERS, the cinema and conflict.

The Characters

Although, of course, this book is centred around Kate and Vincent, I made a few eclectic comments on them both (including Georgia too!) here: bloop! So I thought I’d take this opportunity to evaluate a few other characters who are occasionally overshadowed by our main protagonists. Until I Die served as the PERFECT opportunity for character development and progression and boy oh boy did Plum run away with it (in a good way, of course!) even if it did counter the speed of the plot. I’ll allow it for these fabulous character explorations!

GASPARD AND JEAN-BAPTISTE: Their relationship GIVES ME LIFE. I really didn’t expect it, and on reflection they are just down right perfect for each other – introvert, meets control freak.

CHARLOTTE: I first and foremost will start (and sign) the petition to bring Charlotte back to the house (*even though both me and Kirstie are highly suspicious of either her or Geneviève*)

funniest-adele-gifs

JULESGenuinely my favourite character in the whole of the trilogy (as of yet!) – his disposition is just so crushing, and I think that he and Kate would just be perfect for eachother (if not for Vincent, that is!) His witty remarks never fail to disappoint, and his love for Kate is just … gah I can’t even describe it. *empathises intensely*

VIOLETTE: Ew, STOP WITH THE FLOWERS. 

tumblr_o497t7rnrx1roxle0o2_500

AMBROSE: Please wake up and smell the CHARLOTTE’S BURNING LOVE FOR YOU.

ARTHUR (AND GEORGIA): Although Arthur comes across as an old-fashioned so-and-so for the majority of this book, I absolutely loved his ending and the development of the relationship between himself and Georgia. I approve Plum, feel free to go wild in book #3!

 

image

The good and bad

What I ADORED

  • The character development and progression (see above) – although the actual content of the book took a hit, I loved the expansion of rather shielded characters.
  • GASPARD. His introverted yet completely charming nature really won me over in this book.
  • Georgia and Kate’s sisterly bond – YES PLUM YES. I 100% approve of any Mercier-missions in the future. Georgia’s quick remarks, and Kate’s responses never fail to amuse and delight.

What I DISLIKED

  • I feel like this book spent too long recapping Die For Me. I’m sorry but why would anyone in their RIGHT MIND start a trilogy at book 2?! Genuinely, it’s their own loss if they don’t understand it, I JUST WANT THE NEW CONTENT!
  • The fact that Sebastien is spelt with an “e” instead of an “a” (Sebastian) – I’M SORRY, I KNOW THIS IS A FRENCH NAME BUT I’M NOT USED TO IT AND DON’T LIKE CHANGE *shakes head*
  • The lack of some of my favourite characters due to the character development of others. I would have far preferred to read about Jeanne and Charlotte as opposed to Violette and Bran. (also side note: BRAN?! Is he legitimately a cereal? I 100% hope his surname is Flakes.)

giphy21


 

spoilers. spoilers. spoilers. 

Please avert your eyes to avoid my spoiler-filled ramblings, assorted musings and theories that I just NEED to share. 

giphy22

1

Papy is still numa-related. I would be so up for Papy to have given his book to Violette and pretend there was a “break-in” (the others would all be faked too). That would be how she knew to go to Bran’s shop and find his mother. Also, wouldn’t it just be brilliant for her to tell Kate that she is done with her granddad, and Kate could choose for either him or her to be killed. This leads to the second theory:

2

KATE IS THE CHAMPION. Credit to Kirstie for this one, but after she mentioned it I had such a revelation. I always suspected that Kate would become a Revenant, but it makes so much more sense if she has always been the Champion instead of Vincent.

3

Also either Geneviève or Charlotte are up to something not very pleasing. AKA SECRET NUMA TASKS. Their plot line just seems a little vacant away from La Maison, and I feel like one of them will take the other hostage as part of the ENORMOUS NUMA/BARDIA CONFLICT THAT IS ABOUT TO HAPPEN IN IF I SHOULD DIE. I mean, it’s necessary, right? I thoroughly suspect that Geneviève will be taking Charlotte, although it could be reversed (even though I’m praying for it not to be because I. LOVE. HER.)

The VerdictUntil I Die

(Overall: 9.25/10) 

Literally stop whatever you are doing right now (apart from breathing, blinking, or other bodily functions – I guess they’re somewhat forgivable) and pick up this trilogy of books. I know that this technically received a lower score than Until I Die, even though I claimed it was a better book, but that’s because I far preferred this on an emotional level. Although the plot was not as incredible as book #1, I LOVE CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT.

*ALSO BOOGY DANCE I JUST PICKED UP A COPY OF IF I SHOULD DIE, THE FINAL BOOK IN THE TRILOGY*

Amazon // Goodreads

image


 

Have you read the Revenants series? What were your thoughts?! If not, how is your March TBR going – are you powering through, or flailing under stacks and stacks of unfinished books? Let me know!

 

10 thoughts on “UNTIL I DIE … FROM ADMIRATION FOR THIS BOOK.

  1. Eek. I’m glad you really enjoyed this! I actually saw If I Die (I think that’s the name of the first book??) in the library the other day, but gave it a pass…I’ll see if I can find it the next time I go – I’ll let you know if I start the series! Hopefully I do…because I’ve been so “idk if i should start this series” for a while now, because yeah, I hate being disappointed by sequels, etc. (I’ve had a bad experience with Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire). ANYWAY tldr – ILL TRY TO START THIS SERIES! 😀
    ALSO I see that Instax :OO 😀 They’re so fun to use haha 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe, YES YOU SHOULD. I firmly recommend it *praises indefinitely*. I completely understand what you mean though – sequels tend to be SO disappointing. After all of the energy invested in the first book, the majority of successive books just fall short.

      YES TO THE INSTAX. My amazingly wonderful friends pooled together and bought me one for my birthday, and it’s so much fun to use (especially for tumblr purposes!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. OH THATS SO COOL – your friends are AWESOME! 😀 Only thing I’m sad about with it, is how expensive film is 😦 But usually, the photos are quite nice, and it’s SO FUN to just whip it out, let everyone gaze at it with wonder, and feel like the master of the universe for having one AHAHA :’)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. They are the best – I love them all ❤

        Yeah, I know right! It's a bit ridiculous *cri* and completely agreed – I love just forcibly shoving my tumblr polaroids in everyones' faces and laughing at how AMAZINGLY BETTER at life I am. Hehe.

        (no really.)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha excellent review!! *munches on croissants* I’M BEYOND JEALOUS THAT YOU HAVE IF I SHOULD DIE. *sits heavily* I’m soo ready to test all these theories to see if we’re right!! Also omg the quote – I think that may just be the most perfect come back in the history of come backs EVER. Excuse me whilst I run excited in circles in anticipation of what’s going to happen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

