| Features | · | Lifestyle |

July round-up; August TBR.

July Round-Up

Okay, I’m sorry, can someone please put this year on hold already. WE’RE MORE THAN HALF WAY TO 2017, and I STILL HAVE A GAZJILLION BOOKS ON MY TBR. This is not ideal in the slightest. *consumes self*

giphy18

Read

The Lie Tree – Frances Hardigne // The Book Thief – Markus Zusak // Highly Illogical Behaviour – John Corey Whaley // Armada – Ernest Cline // All The Bright Places – Jennifer Niven

Honestly, I’m really pleased with the entirety of this month’s reads. I feel as if I’ve gone through a fair few genres (from ARMADA’s sci-fi, to The Lie Tree’s historical ficiton-esque writing, and All The Bright Places with its contemporary vibe), and have come back pleased with what I’ve read. It’s very rare for me to manage to select such good books for vacation  *pats self on back* well done, self, you’ve earned 3 crumpets.

Ratings

(I will try to upload reviews for all the books by the end of August)

The Book Thief

5 stars

A million percent recommend this book; even though I know I’m way behind the band-wagon.

All The Bright Places

4.5 stars

My sister recommended this book, and I did really enjoy it. I love reading contemporaries by the pool/beach; they’re just easy going!

giphy12

Armada

3.5 stars

Although I didn’t love this as much as I did Ready Player One, there’s just something INFECTIOUS about Cline’s writing: he’s definitely my pleasure-read. Even though I had no idea what half of the 80’s sci-fi references were referring to (I’m a young and confused mushroom, okay?), and THEY WERE SO FREQUENT, I’d definitely still recommend this book.

Highly Illogical Behaviour

3.5 stars

I wasn’t particularly expecting much from this novel by John Corey Whaley, but I must admit I was pleasantly surprised – I definitely am glad I trawled to the end, and Clark x Solomon are my new OTP.

The Lie Tree

3 stars

Hmm, this book was one of halves for me. At first, I was 2 seconds away from DNFing, but once you reach the big “incident” (because who doesn’t love a good murder mystery?) you’ll be hooked. You can go and check out my review above if you want to hear more of me yakking on about The Lie Tree (free cookies will be provided).

dividerdivider

Currently reading:

Blog spotlight:

Paper Fury‘s “How To Fabulously Get Started On #Bookstagram” is a deserving blogging highlight of the month for me. Not only was it enormously funny, but it was incredibly helpful, and informative too. Cait, is there no end to your talent?

Conversations: Reading Book Series – Yay or Nay?” by Geraldine @ Corralling Books was also such a good read! A good ol’ long conversation can never go amiss in my eyes, and I think I’m going to get involved with this fortnightly meme next month!

How's life?July has been pretty good for me, to be honest. I’ve recently gotten SUPER INTO Twitter and Bookstagram. Let’s chat! (accounts are linked). It means I’ve been taking overly edgy shots of household plants, which is always quite therapeutic, really. it also makes me look insane… I also hit 50 followers on WordPress, which I honestly never expected to reach, and am so thrilled about! (I know it’s tiny compared to everyone else, but I’m super proud;  it was definitely a goal for me when I stared this blog! A huge thank you to everyone <3)

I’ve rediscovered my love of THE GLORY THAT IS a Terry’s Chocolate Orange (no joke, I’ve eaten 3 in a week). Oh well… there’s orange in its name, so that sort of counts as semi-healthy, right?

giphy21

I’VE BEEN ABSOLUTELY OBSESSED WITH POKÉMON GO; it’s incredible, and I think I’ve done more walking in the past couple of weeks than I have in my entire life.

Team Valor is definitely the best.

Watched

Films

Arguably the best bit about going away (apart from, well, everything else), plane journeys are always great fun for the host of entertainment they provide. I managed to stay awake for long enough to watch a couple of films –

10 Cloverfield Lane had me jumping out of my seat. THERE WERE SO MANY JUMP-SCARES, it was unfair. My dad, having already watched the film, just sat and laughed at my reactions for the WHOLE. TWO. HOURS. *grumbles*

I was then too scared to sleep, and needed a little chill-down. So naturally, for a teenage male, I hopped on over and watched Zootopia. Although awfully cliché (but really, what was I expecting from a film marketed at 7 year-olds?) the plot was endearing, and I found myself actually rooting for the characters. And if they can make grumpy me do that, the film’s alright by me! Also the sloth scene was LIFE AFFIRMING.

giphy19

I also watched The Secret Life Of Pets which was, again, pretty cliché and happy-clappy, but it was a bearable level of sugariness. (sugariness? I’m pretty sure that makes 0 sense, but okay @brain we’ll go with that)

TV

I’ve recently started watching The 100 (and before you ask, yes I am behind the bandwagon in EVERY ASPECT OF LIFE) – it honestly is pretty darn incredible. I can’t remember a time before this show was in my life, and I somehow managed to watch 2 whole seasons in 4 days, because screw responsibility, my bed is comfy.

Favourite Character(s): Lexa, Octavia, Clarke, Bellamy, Raven and Monty. (basically them all BECAUSE I CAN’T DECIDE *wails*)

Ships: Lexa x Clarke (of course, who am I?), Bellamy x Clarke, Monty x Harper.

Alycia Debnham-Carey is also my celebrity crush after Emma Roberts.

giphy20

I’m semi-enthused about reading the novels, but I’ve heard such disappointed comments about them, I don’t know whether to just disregard them altogether.

The latest season of Masterchef Australia also underpinned my July, and I won’t spoil it because the finals were very recent, but I’M SUPER STOKED for the winner. They were one of my favourites from Day 1 (even though they never seemed to receive much screen-time).

Listened

I spent three weeks in the States, and so there are a couple of typical saturated-pop type tunes. Is it me, or do American radio stations pick 7 songs out of a hat and then refuse to play anything else for the rest of EXISTENCE. Dangerous Woman, I’m looking at you *stares intently*.
The rest are songs I’ve fallen in love with, or re-fallen in love with all over again.

Upcoming ChallengesI’m aiming to increase my participation within the blog-o-sphere in the coming month, and I decided that the perfect way to do that would be to get involved in the challenges and ReadAThons around the place.

  • Primarily, I’m going to be participating in the Comment Challenge, hosted by the wonderful Lonna @ FLYLēF‘s and Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense. Super excited to rise to the challenge and make new friends in Nikki and Amy!
  • I’m also going to be participating in the #ReadThemAllThon which sounds absolutely fab (because I mean, HELLO, IT’S POKÉMON GO RELATED). Big props to Aentee @ ReadAtMidnight for hosting! You can catch my TBR here!
  • I’m planning on entering #sandraandbooksaugust16 Bookstagram challenge!
  • I’m also going to enter the #SerialTalesinAugust Book Challenge, because I love all of the prompts! Thanks to Sylvia @ Serial Bibliophile and Dark Faerie Tales!!

Just look at these prompts!

IMG_4458

IMG_4380

giphy22

August TBR

Since it’s still the Summer holidays for me, I’ve decided to be semi-ambitious, with 10 books. Do I think I’ll be able to finish them all? No, but I can dream!

divider

How was your July? What’s top of your August TBR, that you didn’t manage to get round to? I would love to check out your round-ups, so make sure to leave links below!

12 thoughts on “July round-up; August TBR.

  1. I FEEL YOU WITH THE HUGE TBR. AND THE RUNNING OUT OF TIME.
    Okay, you kind of are behind the bandwagon. I WILL FORGIVE. THE ONLY WAY TO GET BACK ON IS TO RUN ALONG BEHIND FOR A LITTLE WHILE UNTIL YOU CATCH UP.
    The Book Thief is AMAZING. It’s Nikki’s favorite book, and one of my many second-favorites. And Pets and Zootopia are JUST TOO CUTE.
    Also YOU MENTIONED ME I LOVE YOU THIS IS A HUGE HUG FROM ME TO YOU I’M NEVER LETTING GO.
    Aaaaaand finally I just have to say… ARE YOU READING THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER. IT BETTER BE AT THE TOP OF YOUR LIST. IF YOU DONT ALREADY KNOW THEN YOU KNOW NOW THAT IT IS MY FAOVRITE BOOK OF EVER AND I WILL HUNT YOU DOWN IF YOU DONT READ IT. AND YOU REALLY DONT WANT THAT. OKAY THIS IS VERY LONG I SHALL LEAVE NOW.
    -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’M SO BEHIND THE BANDWAGON, I CAN’T EVEN SEE IT ANYMORE.

      The Book Thief has rocketed to my second-favourite book of all time; glad that you both like it too!! *hugs* *tries to break free*

      I’M READING THE PERKS IN 3 DAYS AND I’M SUPER EXCITED. I’ll tweet you CONSTANTLY – and will try not to let you down!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. OH OH OH!!!
        There was one of your posts where you talked about hitting 50 followers! I totally meant to congratulate you but I don’t think I did!!! So…. CONGRATS! Fifty isn’t “small” or “nothing”, it’s a huge milestone. And it took me a while to even realize that you were a fairly “small” blog because you’re so amazing…. So THE PEOPLE SHALL FLOCK. ITS OFFICIAL.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ahhhh thankyou so much!! That really means a lot 🙂 It definitely is a huge milestone for me, and I can’t quite believe I made it! If I could only strive to create content half as awesome as your blog, I’d be happy 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Hahaha I get that!
        Oh my gosh NO. NOT EVEN CLOSE. It’s so insane that I ever post at all and I literally can’t even fathom the amount of followers we have right now. I think I lost it after about 100…. And we just got lucky with this theme, too! I love the look now, though; it fits us better than our previous themes and it still looks professional.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like you’ll be having quite a month – I really hope you’ll like The Time Traveler’s Wife, Illuminae, Wolf Hall, and The Perks of Being a Wallflower because they are some of my favorites.

    A couple of friends and I went to see The Secret Life of Pets at the movie theater after work one day – we were the only 20/30 somethings there with out little kids, but we had a great time! 😀 Glad you liked it, too. I haven’t seen 10 Cloverfield Lane yet, but I’m hoping to soon – thanks for the warning about the jump scares!

    I’ve only watched the first season of The 100 so far. Before I started watching I tried the book since I’d heard so many good things about the show…let’s just say I was not a fan of the book. For the most part, I like what the show did with it even if it did take it a while for me to really get into it. I’ll have to continue with the show, although I have been spoiled for it.

    You’re definitely right about the radio situation, but seven may be giving them too much credit…

    By the way, have you read Noggin by John Corey Whaley?

    Like

    1. I really hope I enjoy them as well, aha! Especially now becasue they’re some of your favourites *flails from pressure*.

      Aha, nothing wrong with being the oldest in the cinema! I’m proudly going to watch Finding Dory 😛 Glad you had a great time, and yes I would definitely recommend 10 Cloverfield Lane!

      It sucks that you’ve had the 100 spoiled for you! *boos everyone* You definitely should continue the TV series though! I had a couple of major deaths spoiled for me, and I still love the anticipation. I think I’ll give the books a miss to be honest – the reaction to them is overridingly negative … maybe I’ll give them a chance in a couple of years when I’m bored of waiting between seasons of the 100?

      I haven’t read Noggin, no! Would you recommend it?

      Like

      1. Definitely, especially if you’re wondering what a combination of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, Every Day by David Leviathan, and Frankenstein by Mary Shelley would look like. It’s kind of one of those stories that’s either going to crash and burn or be great. It turned out to be pretty great actually. 🙂

        I hope Finding Dory turns out to be as good as Nemo!

        Like

Leave a Reply

