| Books & Reviews | · | Tags & Miscellaneous |

The Book Sacrifice Tag

About 53 thousand eons ago, I was tagged in the Book Sacrifice Tag by the hilarious Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts. No joke, it has been a solid 5 months now… I HAVE POOR TIME MANAGEMENT *wails*. However, since I am finally starting to hold the fort down, and get on top of my posting, I decided to go and revisit all of my old tags and slowly pick them off the list.

giphy1

Nevertheless, better late than never, hey? So without further ado, here is:

The Book Sacrifice Tag

1

An over-hyped book

Situation: You’re in a store when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked do you start chucking at the zombies?

Firstly, what kind of zombies’ weakness is over-hyped books? *shakes head* I’d have to go for The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. Whilst I had already read (and loved!) Looking For Alaska, and Paper Towns, the hype of TFIOS was its downfall for me.

Also, if I threw it to the zombies, maybe they’d be taken aback by the emotional love story, and stop attacking? I CAN HOPE.

the_fault_in_our_stars

2

A Sequel

Situation: torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

I would have to plump for The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan. Now, to clear my name against the torrent of hatred I’m expecting, I did enjoy this book somewhat. It just didn’t live up to the magic of The Lightning Thief, and I really lost steam in the series by this point.

giphy4

percyseamonsters

3

A Classic

Situation: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

I was going to agree with Joey, and go for Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger (and this would still rank second on my list of least favourite classics), but after careful consideration, I’d have to give the prize to Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe. While, admittedly, it was for an english assignment (so all life was drained out of it), the plot just didn’t grip me.

41lxo4smz4l-_sy344_bo1204203200_

4

A Least Favourite Book:

Situation: apparently global warming = suddenly frozen wasteland. Your only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting?

I’d go for REAMDE by Neal Stephenson. I really like Joey’s train of thought, that a book you haven’t read would be easier to sacrifice without the regret: it’s been on my TBR shelf for a year now, and at 1044 pages, I really can’t stammer the energy to start it. That being said, the sheer quantity of pages would serve as excellent fire kindling in this frozen wasteland.

giphy3

neal-stephenson-reamde-uk


Your Turn

Tags-a-plenty:

– Geraldine @ Corralling Books
– Kirstie @ Upside-Down Books
– Lauren @ Always Me
– Nick @ The Paper Dragon
– Emily @ Paperback Princess
(As always, if you’ve already done the tag, or just don’t want to do it, feel free to ignore this. There’s no bad blood!) 

Which book would be your first sacrifice?

23 thoughts on “The Book Sacrifice Tag

  1. Thank you for the tag! I’ve been contemplating doing this tag for a while now, so you’ve given me the perfect excuse. 🙂 I will have to tackle it within the next couple weeks.

    I totally agree–burning an unread book might be a good way to go. And also, yeah, 1044 pages is daunting and would make for great kindling, so…

    It’s funny, because I don’t remember thinking Sea of Monsters was less magical, but the two times I’ve reread that series, I’ve gotten bogged down on Sea of Monsters, even though I didn’t the first time I was reading it. 😛

    But maybe the zombies will get so mad about the ending of TIFIOS that they’ll be extra motivated to take you out? It could happen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aha! It’s absolutely no problem at all! Yessss I can’t wait to see your responses!

      1044 pages is TERRIFYING for me. The book is so large, I’m sure it could be equally useful as a footstool, or maybe a small table.

      If the zombies become enraged from TFIOS’s ending, maybe I can just throw copies of REAMDE (with it’s 1044 pages) and hope it terrifies them too, and they flee!

      Like

  2. Five months??? *hysterical laugh* I have some from… A very long time ago.
    !!! You haven’t read the arrest of the Percy Jackson series? IT DESERVES ANOTHER CHANCE.
    Thanks for the tag! We’ll get to it in….. Okay, probably a very long time from now. Best not dwell on that. I appreciate the thought, though! 😉
    -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You complain you’re late?? Five months isn’t that long…pfft…. xD
    BUT I TOTALLY AGREE WITH ALL YOUR PICKS OMG. TFIOS especially ahh!! Looking for Alaska was so much better imo, and it honestly deserves more recognition!
    Also, did you end up finishing the Percy Jackson series, even after Sea of Monsters? Bc I did – but I definitely thought it was the weakest book of the series.
    Dude, and whilst I haven’t read Things Fall Apart bc I didn’t have to do it for English, a bunch of my friends did, and they also hated it…gonna steer clear of that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES! Awesome that you agree with the choices! LOOKING FOR ALASKA WAS 10 x BETTER THAN TFIOS. The hype is so unfair imo! *shakes head*

      I think I did long ago, but to be honest, have completely forgotten 89% of the major plot lines! *oops* May have to re-read, but really don’t have the energy to!

      Definitely do! I know everyone has a different opinion, but the overwhelming majority of people I have ever talked to about the book (including 100% of my English class, half of which DNF’d it even though it was for an assignment) really disliked it.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for tagging me! Tfios was the first John Green book I read, so I really wasn’t used to his writing but I really fell in love with it! I also preferred Lighting Thief to Sea of Monsters.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem! Excited to see your responses if you give it a go!

      The first John Green I read was Paper Towns and I loved that! TFIOS was the third one, and I think I was becoming a bit worn down by him to be honest!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

