| Books & Reviews |

The Perks Of Being A Wallflower KNOCKS ME BACKWARDS

PerksAt a glance...IMG_5009

The Perks Of Being A Wallflower // Stephen Chbosky

Pages: 231

Genre: YA contemporary

Published: February 1st 1999 by MTV Books and Pocket Books

Links: Goodreads // Amazon // The Book Depository

Recommend-worthy: unless you’re ALWAYS INCREDIBLY BEHIND THE TREND like me, you’ve probably already read this book 92 times over. If you haven’t, I’d definitely recommend!

The Gif Summary

giphy15


15th August 2016

Dear friend, (all the references)

I FLEW THROUGH THIS NOVEL, AND ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT. After many (many, many) recommendations /threats by Amy @ Every Book You Need To Read And More, I knew I had to jump into Chbosky’s novel straight-a-way in the ReadThemAllThon (which kicked off on the 14th – check out my TBR here!) AND I REALLY WASN’T LET DOWN; IT WAS SO GOOD.

The Plotline

Whilst the plot was entirely simple on paper, it was wholly erratic, depthy and captivating in its presentation. To be honest, I’m not quite sure how to summarise a plotline that was so extensive in its coverage of small, detached events. Our protagonist was Charlie, a 16 year old sophomore who had a passion for reading, and could never shy from telling the truth. He took on the advice to become more “involved” in the opportunities around him, and participate in all sorts of new situations. Charlie-the-wallflower (turned “socialite”) after managing to befriend a small, eclectic group of seniors, shares his experiences, down-days and varied memories via the medium of letters, as we follow his progression through the school year.

I think the phrase “coming of age” fits this book down to a tee. Not only does Chbosky brilliantly explore pertinent topics such as mental health,  lgbt relationships, abortions, domestic violence, and drug usage, but his writing of it all was just INCREDIBLE. Owing to the first person presentation, I was so drawn to Charlie – he’s probably the most engaging male protagonist that I’ve read in a long while – I can’t see how anyone would be opposed to rooting for him! I also liked Sam very much (and not just because I kept picturing Emma Watson when reading), as well as Patrick, and pretty much the whole of Charlie’s family. Endearing characters are always a big draw for me!

giphy16The good and badWhat I liked:

  • Charlie’s vision of the world around him was so captivating to read. His bluntness in particular was hilarious – he rolled “my grandfather was fat” off the tongue with no sense of remorse.
  • The letter format provided such an insightful recount of events, and I absolutely loved reading a novel in this way. (I’m so pumped for This Modern Love by Will Darbyshire, yes *nods*) – I think it is just refreshing to have something that makes you think “huh, that’s different, and I like it”.
  • Though not technically the writing, Emma Watson on the cover is an immediate +10 points for gryffindor.
  • Chbosky’s unwavering coverage of themes that are still pertinent to this day was brilliant to read.
  • The way Charlie refers to pizza crusts as “pizza bones” pretty much sums up why I like him as a person. THE CHARACTERISATION WAS SO ON POINT.

IMG_4929

What I didn’t like so much:

  • I know that the blame is misplaced for this one (considering it was published in 1999), but I’m really beginning to dislike the trope of “characters bonding over old, indie music”. Although Perks is falling victim to bad timing, I’ve just read so many novels lately that establish a soundtrack of songs that I a) have never heard of before, and b) will probably never listen to. I DON’T UNDERSTAND IT.
  • Although a brutally realistic story 99% of the time, I have to question what kind of teacher would let a student smoke in front of them?!
  • *braces for impact* I wasn’t head over heels for the ending – it was slightly underwhelming for me, and I’m not sure I’m keen on how such a captivating plot-line was brought to a close.

Favourite Quotation:

“Craig said the problem with things is that everyone is always comparing everyone with everyone and because of that, it discredits people”

Charlie had some CRACKERS of one-liners and philosophical thoughts, don’t get me wrong, but I love this quotation by Craig even if he was one of the more irrelevant characters. It’s just so accurate *basks*.The VerdictPerks Overall

5 stars

My second-favourite read of 2016 (and that’s saying something because I seriously doubt anything will manage to knock The Book Thief off that top spot!), and I’d 110% recommend it to everyone.


 

ReadThemAllThon Update:

readthemallthon-badge04-rainbow

Whelp, that’s 63 extra CP in the bank, as well as a Celadon Gym badge! Really enjoying the ReadThemAllThon so far (even though I can predict I’m going to stagnate BECAUSE I’M LAZY AND DISORGANISED).

IMG_4993

How’s everyone else’s TBR’s going? Have you read Perks? What did you think of the ending; I NEED TO DISCUSS!

11 thoughts on “The Perks Of Being A Wallflower KNOCKS ME BACKWARDS

  1. Omg don’t even get me started on the music world. I mean, I don’t have a problem with it per se (and what books are you reading, I can’t think of any with this trope? Clearly not enough books with dragons and mermaids in them *rolls eyes*). But I just don’t do music, I swear. It’s like I was a potato in my previous life. I am in awe of people who are “in” with the music world, meanwhile my playlist consists of Disney soundtracks and Beethoven. Go figure.

    SO GLAD to see you liked this book! I remember enjoying it myself but truth be told I do not remember anything, haha. Have you seen the movie? What did you think?/WHY HAVEN’T YOU WATCHED IT.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aha, I think my developing distaste to the trope probably wasn’t helped by the two Cline novels I read just beforehand xD oops! Dragons/mermaids it is then!

      Aw, it sucks that you don’t get along well with the music world – I LIVE ON MUSIC. Like genuinely, music is my caffeine.

      Nope, I haven’t seen the movie (yet!!), will hopefully be watching it very soon!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. EEEEEEEEEE I’M SO HAPPY YOU LOVED IT. I WISH I HAD READ IT 92 TIMES. I’M WORKING ON IT. MY GOAL IS 100. AND YES, HE IS SO PERFECTLY HUFFLEPUFF. AND YOUR GIFS ARE ON POINT. AND YES IT IS UP THERE WITH THE BOOK THIEF. YOU HAVE NOW SUCCESSFULLY READ THE BOOKWORM GIRLS’ FAVORITE BOOKS AND LOVED THEM BOTH. CONGRATS, YOU’VE MADE THE CLUB.
    -AMY
    P.S. I DON’T THINK I’M GOING TO BE ABLE TO STOP USING CAPS FOR A WHILE.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I DON’T THINK I’LL BE ABLE TO STOP CAPS EITHER *shrieks* YAY FOR MAKING THE CLUB *high fives for not hating eachother’s favourites*.

      Charlie is so definitely completely utterly Hufflepuff *nods* and YES GO FOR 100! (99 to go!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

